Poetry Wednesday, Vol. 33

We recently purchased a Golden Book of Fun and Nonsense at our favorite resale store. The kids love most of the poems, think they understand some of the poems and are thoroughly confused by the rest. This Ogden Nash poem makes Josie giggle.

I am also including an Emily Dickinson that my brother in law pointed out to me, it is better each time I read it.

The Pig
Ogden Nash

The pig, if I am not mistaken,
Supplies us sausage, ham, and bacon.
Let others say his heart is big –
I call it stupid of the pig.

I’m Nobody
Emily Dickinson

I’m nobody! Who are you?
Are you nobody, too?
Then there’s a pair of us -don’t tell!
They’d banish us, you know.

How dreary to be somebody!
How public, like a frog
To tell your name the livelong day
To an admiring bog!

