I don’t know what possessed me

Mikey has begun starting sentences with, “No offense, Mom, but….”, which is followed by any variety of endings from “I don’t like this supper” to “that way is not how I would do it.”  Really any sentence that begins with no offense will in fact cause offense, so I have outlawed the no offense sentence.  Because I don’t really want his opinion on my food.  I cook it, he eats it, that is the rule in this house.
I never make traditional American food.  It is just too… I don’t know, bland? uninspiring? not spicy? boring?  No offense…
But the other night I decided to make a pasta bake!  Woo hoo, baked pasta!  You would argue that baked pasta is Italian, not American.  Well.  Not the recipe I found.  Classico brand pasta sauce American pasta bake, that’s what I made.
So I found this recipe, and it worked out.  You might want to try it as well.  I’ve added my notes in red

  Easy Pasta Bake

Ingredients

  • 1 pound pasta (yes, oh, whole wheat, even!)
  • 1 pound lean ground beef (hmmm, none of that, but I do have bacon)
  • 1 (32 ounce) jar Classico® Tomato and Basil Sauce (sauce in the fridge… in the fridge… where.. is…it…ah, here! Shoot, it’s moldy.  Ok no sauce.)
  • 8 ounces fresh mushrooms, sliced (yuck, I don’t like mushrooms in stuff, but I have summer squash, red peppers, onion, and garlic, that should do!)
  • 1 1/4 cups Italian-style stewed tomatoes (um, don’t have those, how about canned tomatoes and tomato paste with some extra herbs chopped in, and some red pepper flakes?)
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese (not quite a cup…ah! but I do have some Asiago! Shoot, it’s moldy.  I’ll just cut… off… the mold… and tada!  Just enough cheese!)

Directions

  1. Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add pasta and cook for 8 to 10 minutes or until al dente; drain and reserve.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  3. In a large skillet, brown the beef (bacon)until no longer pink; drain off grease. Add pasta sauce (moldy, nope), mushrooms (yuck, use other veggies), and tomatoes (canned and paste, along with some red pepper flakes, oops! too much! they won’t notice) to beef and simmer for 10 minutes or until warmed through.
  4. In a 9×13 inch baking dish, pour in beef and tomato mixture and add pasta; mix well. Sprinkle the cheese evenly over the top.
  5. Bake in preheated oven for 20 minutes or until the cheese starts to bubble; serve immediately. (and when Mikey starts saying no offense, tell him to Shush!)

 

Everyone liked it, even if it was a little spicy.  I must have found a pasta bake recipe that worked!  Who says American cooking is bland?  You just follow the recipe and it comes out great every time.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “I don’t know what possessed me

  1. Ha! I do the same thing. I look at a recipe and think, hmmm, you know what would be better? I’m not sure I’ve ever made anything the same way twice. This sounds yummy- changes and all 🙂

Comments are closed.